Baltimore
18 February 2004


Work last night didn't seem real. We closed early and we were all annoyed. Afterwards we went to the bar next door and had a few drinks. Me and the servers, spending one last night together. But it didn't feel like the end. It felt like any other night, really. Except when I left and was bombarded with hugs from Dave, Emma, Shane, Tiffinie, Jason, and Craig, who didn't seem to want to me me go at all. But I was a little tipsy and didn't really realize the magnitude of the evening.

Today, on my way to school, I stopped at work to pick up my severence check. I am 25 years old and I'm getting a severence check because I was laid off. Crazy, no? I walked into my restaurant and found boxes and boxes piled on each other. The bar was empty and clean. The managers and a few others were there, cleaning and drinking beer and joking around. Carlos, who I mentioned in my last entry, sees me and walks over to me. I didn't get a chance to say goodbye to him the night before, because whenever I started he'd tell me to get out of his face and do some work. Typical Carlos. Without hesitation Carlos enveloped me in a huge hug and said, "I'm going to miss you so much. I thought I didn't get a chance to say good-bye." It was brief, but it overwhelmed me with emotion. For Carlos to drop all pretense, all barriers, and do that, made it sink in. I'm never going back. It will never be the same.

OK, so I am going back. Tomorrow we're all spending one last night at work, having a party of sorts. A farewell.

But it will never be the same.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005