Baltimore
24 February 2004


Every year a local radio station hosts a marathon for the Johns Hopkins Children's Hospital. It lasts an entire weekend and they raise money through pledges and stuff. The week leading up to the marathon, they auction cool things off every hour in the morning.

The auction item this morning was so cool that I hardly believed it when they announced it. A private concert for 20 people at the Funk Box with the Indigo Girls. 20 people! Teeny tiny venue! Indigo Girls! I lamented the fact that I'm so poor. Although, I suppose that with enough notice, it would be possible to round up twenty people willing to contribute a couple hundred dollars each.

Anyway, I listened to the end of the auction on the air and it was down to these two women. They kept going back and forth and back and forth. Woman #1 was this sweet, meek sounding person and Woman #2 was sort of loud and kept saying things to Woman #1 like "give it up!" She was cracking me up. The final price ended up being, I believe, about $3900. Which, in my opinion is a total bargain. That's less than $200 per person, and I would totally pay $200 to spend the evening with the Indigo Girls. Woman #2 ended up winning, and when it was all over she says to the DJ's, "Tell Woman #1 to give me her name and phone number and I'll make sure she gets a few tickets." Isn't that nice? She doesn't even know her! I love Indigo Girls fans.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005