Baltimore
27 May 2004


I got this from Ultra Tart and Dancing Brave.

1. A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.
This is going to sound ridiculous, but back in high school my family had a war over the lyrics to Jimmy Buffet's "Why Don't We Get Drunk and Screw?" My sister swore the lyric was, "They say you are the slut queen, but honey I don't think that's true," and I swore it was "They say you are the snumb queen, but honey I don't think that's true." It doesn't make any sense for it to be slut. If she was a big slut, why would he have to convince her to sleep with him? Whereas if she were a SNUB queen, he'd have to work at it. Well, it turns out that the lyrics are "They say you are a snuff queen." I don't know what a snuff queen is, frankly, but I'm sure it's closer to snub than slut. So I declare victory.

2. Your least favorite song on one of your favorite albums of all time.
I have two favorite albums of all time, Rites of Passage by The Indigo Girls, and August and Everything After by Counting Crows. I honestly love every single song on the Counting Crows CD, but I have to admit to absolutely hating "Chickenman". Everytime I hear it I cringe. My friends say that "Airplane" is the worst song on the album, but I kind of like it.

3. A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.
I HATE HATE HATE Eminem. I find him physically and morally repulsive. But I can't help but love the song, "Lose Yourself". Every other song he's sung makes my stomach turn and he's ugly. I just hate the way he's so self righteous and "everyone hates me and my music but they don't know!" and I hate that he writes lyrics about killing his baby's mother and lyrics that are homophobic. I hate him. But I like "Lose Yourself".

4. Your favorite song with the name of a city in the title or text.
There's a little song called "Blue Skies Over Dundalk" by Mary Prankster that makes me smile everytime I hear it.

5. A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.
"Good Enough" by Sarah Mclaughlin.

6. Ever buy an entire album just for one song and wind up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.
There was a song called "Willing To Wait" that my English teacher had me listen to senior year of high school and I loved it. It's a very mellow, somewhat depressing song. I bought the entire Sebadoh album (called Harmacy) and the entire thing was hardcore Punk, with the exception of the one song I liked. Shortly after acquiring CD burning technology, I made a mix CD with "Willing to Wait" on it and threw out the rest of the Sebadoh CD.

7. Your favorite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.
I have to go with "Untouchable Face" by Ani Difranco. I also love the line in the Alanis Morrissette song, "You Oughtta Know", "Are you thinking of me when you fuck her?" I'm really a big fan of the F-word in general.

8. A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.
Normally I wouldn't know what that means. But the other day I was in the car with my sister and the current Dashboard Confessional song was on (I don't know the name) and I was like, "I didn't know Dashboard Confessional was British" and she says, "They're not."

9. A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.
This is an album, not a song, but when I was in middle school I had a tape by the Soup Dragons called Hotwired that I absolutely loved. Somewhere along the way I lost it, and tried to locate the album in various stores in college. I couldn't, but then after college I was working at a music store and found it in the bargain bin for about $8. I was SO excited, but when I brought it home and put it in my CD player, I realized it was one of the worst albums ever. I guess my tastes have changed since I was in middle school.

10. A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.
"Centerfield" by John Fogarty. When I was a kid my softball team used to play that song during our warmups. It's kind of a cheesy song, but whenever I hear it I think of those spring days in my polyester uniform.

11. A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.
"One Week" by Barenaked Ladies. I think because it's fast and there are times when you can't QUITE understand the lyrics, but you like them anyway.

12. Your favorite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.
There's an album called Millenium Hip Hop that has many great songs on it, including one of my favorites, "Parents Just Don't Understand" by DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince.

13. A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).
The only thing I can think of is "Date Rape" by Sublime. That's the OLD Sublime, not the "What I Got" Sublime.

14. A song sung by an overweight person.
What kind of question is this? How about "Runaround" by Blues Traveler? Of course, the Blues Traveler guy has since gotten the surgery.

15. A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise hate. I already mentioned Eminem, so I'll go with "I'm Your Lady" by Celine Dion. I have no idea why I like that song.

16. A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.
My favorite Bangles song, "In Your Room."

17. One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.
"Forever in Blue Jeans" by Neal Diamond. It came out before I was even born, but my mom used to listen to Mr. Diamond all the time.

18. A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.
Anything Jennifer Lopez. I love it all, and my friends think I'm so silly for it. But I don't care.

19. A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.
I honestly don't listen to the radio very much. I listen to some talk radio and I listen to the local morning show that my friend works on, but generally I listen to CDs, so I have no idea if anyone else has heard Tori Amos' version of "I Don't Like Mondays" except for the people who bought Strange Little Girls. But it is SO much better than the original. It conveys so much more desperation and emotion than the Bob Gedolf version, which is sort of campy.

20. A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a breakup or otherwise difficult situation.
I cannot think of a single thing. Not one.

21. What was the last song you downloaded?
"You'll Think of Me" by Keith Urban. Yeah I listen to country music.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005