Baltimore
14 August 2004


Have you ever felt like your life is in a complete stand still while everyone around you is moving foward? And even if they're not moving forward, at least they're doing something.

It seems like all of my close friends are moving forward. In the past three months, Julia has graduated from college, gotten a job teaching 8th grade, and moved from New Jersey to Virginia to live with her boyfriend. Amber and Matt have both recently started new jobs, Matt broke out of a serious (and damaging relationship) and Amber is nearing the two year anniversary with her boyfriend.

One of my college friends has taken a position in Mongolia (of all places!) to teach English. This is a girl with a B.S. in Business Administration, an M.B.A., and who is a C.P.A. And she's moving to Mongolia. To work with a non-profit agency. My other good friend from college has gotten married and is getting ready to enroll in graduate school.

And then there's me. I've been out of college for three years and I wait tables for a living. I have very little savings, no career, no significant other, no plans to save the world. Don't get me wrong, it's not that I'm miserable. Because really (except for my job) I'm quite happy. I love living with my sister and my cats in our apartment. I love being able to stay up late without worrying about being tired at work the next day. I love that my cloest friend in the world is now only 40 miles from me instead of 200. I love that I only have myself to answer to. But I hate when I run into people who I haven't seen in awhile and they say, "so what have you been up to?" I hate that I'm embarrassed to tell people that I'm a server. I hate that when I do tell someone that I'm a server I feel the need to disclaimer it with my entire life story that led to this point. I hate that I'm one of the most intelligent people I know and my income is based on tips alone. I hate that I spent my entire schooling career being one of the smart, nerdy, ambitious kids and here in the real world I'm nothing special.

Ok, so I do have a job prospect. In fact I've been hired by a shadowy government agency and I'm actually just waiting for my background investigation to be finished. So I'm close to moving forward in my career. Maybe then I can work on all the other stuff

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005