Baltimore
06 October 2004


Yesterday I spent several hours looking at jobs on the internet. I applied to six, actually. I'm so very tired of waiting for the Shadowy Government Agency to come through and finish their investigation into my background. I have no idea what's taking them so long, since my background is really quite vanilla.

At this point I am still going to, in all likelihood, take the job with the SGA. But I can't sit around waiting for it any longer. I can't wait tables anymore. I just can't.

Sunday at work we were at our pre-shift meeting, and the manager went over the proper hand washing procedure for what has to be the tenth time that week. What is so hard about washing hands that people need to be taught over and over how to do it? So while it was going on and on, in my head I was thinking, "I am a college graduate. What am I doing here? I KNOW how to wash my hands!"

Later on that night, a woman sitting in my section got food that was cold. She yelled at me and sent it back, only to have it come out cold again. She then started screaming in my face. Because clearly it's my fault. After I take her order I hop back in the kitchen and cook the food. So as she was screaming at me for no reason I updated my resume in my head and imagined getting a job where I don't get yelled at for no reason.

Anyway, so my friend Sherene invited me over to her house on Tuesday to do an all out job hunt. That way even if I do end up working for the SGA, I won't feel like I'm just sitting around doing nothing in the meantime. We worked for about three hours, and then when I went home I did some more work for jobs that couldn't be applied to online.

Last night I dreamed about Richard again. Only this time the dream wasn't actually about him. I was at work in a HUGE section. I was running around like a maniac, essentially getting my ass kicked by my tables, and I go over to greet a table only to find that sitting at it is Richard and another friend of mine from high school, John (Richard and John were not friends with each other back in the day, by the way). I was SO happy to see both of them but because I was so busy with work I wasn't able to talk to them. So I went back to waiting on my tables and EVERYONE was ordering these complicated drinks that would take forever to get. I couldn't get caught up on everything I had to do, and I ran around a corner towards the kitchen and literally ran into Richard. He says how he is so happy to see me, and he tries to kiss me. But I'm so busy that I can't stop, even though it's pretty much the only thing I want to do. So I brush past him and continue to wait on the other tables. Then I see John and Richard on their way out of the restaurant. I call out to them and Richard says it was nice to see me, but he looks upset, and he just leaves. And I go back to waiting on all the crazy mean people.

I'm not big into analyzing dreams, but this one is pretty obvious. This stupid job that I hate, and which isn't even important, is keeping me from doing what I really want to do and being what I really want to be.



Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005