Baltimore
12 May 2003


I need to start dating someone. I need a boyfriend. Or a girlfriend. I don't want to date. I need to date. Ever since my two friends entered into serious relationships I have had a lot of empty weekends. One of my friends is a waitress and her boyfriend manages a store. They both work a combination of nights and days, and the only night they are both off is Friday. That's fine. She works on Saturday nights so we don't hang out then either. My other friend has surgically attached himself to his boyfriend. I still see him a lot since we live together, but we rarely go out and do anything, and 95% of the time his boyfriend is at our house too. I do have one other friend. She is single. She also lives in New Jersey. It figures.

Right, so back to needing a date. I don't feel lonely because I don't have companionship. I don't really care that much about sex; I can have that without a boyfriend anyway, if I wish. I don't long for someone to sweep me off of my feet or feel like half of a person. I just need someone to hang out with. Someone to go with me to the International Spy Museum and the movies. Someone who likes to watch Jeopardy and will shout out the answers as quickly as possible before I can. When my friends aren't in relationships, they do that. But now they're too busy being half of a couple.

I don't want to go through the elaborate process of finding a new friend. I am a fiercely loyal friend. Being someone's friend requires a lifelong commitment, and I'm not ready to offer that up to anyone. Plus, I admit it. I'm a huge snob. There aren't really any people out there who I'm willing to put forth the effort of friendship. When you're dating someone, you see them on a regular basis until one of you does something stupid or you get tired of each other, then you never have to see each other again. No strings.

And let's face it, my friends are bound to break up with their boyfriends eventually. I just need someone in the interim. Someone to keep their place while they're off gallavanting. It just seems wrong to make a friend for the interim. If I make a new friend and then blow him or her off when my "real" friends break up with their significant others, I'm a real bitch. But if I'm dating someone and we break up, it just wasn't working out.

Ok, as I go back and read this it seems a little crazy. But it's honestly how I feel. I don't wish I had a significant other. I just wish I had someone to hang out with now that my friends aren't around as much. Don't get me wrong, they're still around. I see them during the week a lot, but my weekends are getting more and more boring. Weekends are prime real estate. I can't make a new friend and then just level jump to hanging out on weekends. But dates are meant for weekends. So that's why I need a date. It makes perfect sense.

Of course, there is the possibility that there will be no breaking up. My friends could fall desperately in love and end up getting married. The could spend the rest of their lives with the boys they are dating right now. And where does that leave me? Forgive me for being selfish, but why is it that you have to be in love if you don't want to be alone? I want my friends to be happy. I really do. It's just very hard to be the person who doesn't date. To be the person who is satisfied not to date. In a world where everyone is expected to hook up and pair off, I just want to spend time with my friends. And now they're paired off as well.

***************************************

On a completely unrelated note, I saw the most wonderful movie on Saturday. Bend It Like Beckham. What a great movie. Everyone should see it. It's about respecting family tradition while learning to be your own person. It's about breaking gender roles and doing what you love. It has great soccer sequences. And on top of it all it is a funny, funny movie. Two thumbs up!

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005