Baltimore
27 June 2005


I feel like my life has been stagnant lately. I suppose it's been that way for awhile, but when everyone else around you is moving at the same pace, you tend not to notice. Lately, though, it seems like everyone else has big things going on and I don't, which makes me wonder...am I doing something wrong? On one hand, I don't feel like I am. I'm relatively happy, I'm stable, I like my job. What else do I really need?

I have one friend who just graduated from law school. Another moved across the country after finishing school. People around me are getting engaged, moving in together, buying houses, having babies. I'm doing none of these things.

I have a co-worker who is 32 years old. He lives with two roommates in Fells Point, which is like party central of Baltimore. Something like 80 bars in a half mile radius with run down houses whose only real benefit is their proximity to the bars. All he is capable of talking about is how drunk he got last weekend or some asshole cop who pulled him over for some reason that wasn't his fault. Sometimes he likes to tell us about his buddy whose wife he hates because she is "crazy," but who in reality probably just dislikes him because he is a total loser. Sometimes I'm sitting at lunch listening to him, and I can't believe how pathetic he sounds.

A few weeks ago I sat at lunch with a friend of mine and our co-worker came up in conversation. My friend says that he thinks Co-worker's life has no meaning. He can't believe he's in his 30s and he still behaves that way. At first I agreed with him, but then I said, "I don't know. What's so different about me? I wouldn't say I have that much more going for me." My friend says very seriously, "What are you talking about? You are nothing like him."

But who knows? I'm 26. In six years, where will I be? Sitting at home alone every night wondering where my life as gone? Wondering what I should do to make it different? I don't really want a husband. Or a baby. All I can really think of that I want is a good facial moisterizer.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005