Baltimore
06 January 2003


Another year has passed. I'm older, but am I wiser? Did I actually learn anything in the year 2002? Sure I did.

I learned that it is possible for me to have one job for more than six months without killing myself.

I learned that even though being 100% independent sometimes sucks, it's preferable to living with my parents.

I learned that I spent four years earning a degree in history for no good reason. No one wants to hire someone for their expertise in American History.

I learned that it's quite possible that I'll never go on another date.

I learned that people will always let me down, but that doesn't mean I should stop relying on them.

I learned that staying home on Friday night is fun.

I learned that sometimes girls are as attractive as boys.

I learned that my friends are as important as my family (just don't tell my mother).

I learned that Bostonians can't drive.

That's a lot for one year. 2002 was a year where I faced things never before seen in my life. My first real year without financial support from my parents. At one point I had three jobs just to pay my rent. I worked 18 hour days at two different jobs and I got up the next day and did it all over again. I stared at my online bank statement and convinced myself that someone had made a terrible mistake; there was no way my checking account held only $0.13.

I got my first ever full time with benefits job in 2002. It's not the best job ever, but I got it all on my own. And I'm doing pretty well at it.

I moved into my first ever non-college house that didn't also have living in it a member of my family.

I traveled to Boston and New Jersey and Washington, D.C. for work and ended up learning a few things (don't drive in New Jersey without an EZ Pass, when riding the bus in D.C. it's necessary to REALLY pay attention, I CAN live without constant internet access).

I got 38 people on my rooftop deck without it collapsing. In 2003 I'll go for 45.

2002 was good. So far I'm enjoying 2003. I've joined a gym and I've started getting enough sleep. I still have a lot of growing up left to do. Hopefully I'll make great strides this year.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005