Baltimore
13 December 2002


Am I the only person who doesn't have a hobby? I don't have any hobbies. I mean, sure, I read, I watch TV, I surf the internet, I go to the gym. But really, those aren't hobbies that stand out. After all, don't most people do those things?

It's one of my secret ambitions to be quirky. You know those people you see who are just different in some way, and that quirk makes them cooler than the rest of us? I want that. I figure, though, that if I were to adopt a quirk it would just make me look mentally deficient, or like a loser who tries very hard to be cool.

There is a movie theater near my house. It is a cool, quirky movie theater that shows independent films and serves wine and doesn't take credit cards. The people at that theater are cool. And when I go to the theater, I also feel cool. But, you see, the fact that I'm thinking that I'm cool keeps me from actually being cool. Cool people don't know they're cool, that's the genius of it all.

Oh, so back to hobbies. When I interview people for work, one of the questions I ask is, "What does [insert subject's name here] like to do in his free time?" Sometimes the answer is "Oh, he likes to bake" or "he likes to go rock climbing" or "she loves collecting stamps!". See, those are hobbies! Sometimes, though, the answer is "Uhh...umm...I don't know...hang out with friends?" And everytime, I think, "that's what people would say about me."

In my head, I'd like my hobbies to be yoga and photography. Maybe I could make that a reality.

Probably not.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005