Baltimore
06 March 2003


I bought two CDs tonight. And some clothes. I went to the mall for one reason: to help my roommate pick out a new pair of shoes. Well, he didn't get shoes, and I managed to spend about $75. I hate to perpetuate shallow female stereotypes, but I am uncontrollable when it comes to shopping.

I bought the Chicago CD because the movie was so amazing. I have such the big girl crush on Catherine Zeta-Jones after seeing that movie. Renee Zellweger? Not so much. I think she weighed approximately 95 pounds in the movie, and she didn't look good. The music is killer, though, especially Queen Latifah's big number. We listened to it on the way home, jamming out. How fun is it having a gay male roommate? He's all about the showtunes.

The other CD I bought is Rachel's, "Music For Egon Schiele". Back when I used to work at the music store, a co-worker, Ramon (sexy, sexy Ramon), made me a mixed CD of all of "his" kind of bands, most of which I had never heard of. It was surprisingly good, and I fell in love with the band called "Rachel's". The song on Ramon's mixed CD was just piano, and it was haunting. I wanted to buy the CD, but couldn't find it in any stores at the time. Eventually I forgot about it, but yesterday I was cleaning out my trunk and found the CD Ramon made me (over a year ago) and I fell in love with the song all over again. So I went to the music store and they had two of Rachel's CDs. I'm listening to it right now. This CD isn't all piano, but also has a Viola and a Cello (at least, according to the liner notes!). It is so gorgeous. It makes me want to light a hundred candles and sit in the flickering light relaxing. All alone. Or making out with someone hot. Ramon, perhaps.

After my purchases at the CD store I told myself no more! But they had the cutest pajama pants and matching tank tops at Old Navy! They had frogs! Frogs, people! I had to have them. And also the cutest light blue V-neck t-shirt made from that kind of stretchy material.

Speaking of shopping, I need to go back to Value Village. I bought a pair of jeans there about a year ago, and last month the zipper broke. They were only $5.00, so I got my wear out of them, but it was still discouraging. I loved those jeans. They kind of made my ass look shapeless, but damn were they comfy. For awhile I kept forgetting the zipper was broken and wore them, and the zipper would fall down at inopportune times. I wore them to my parent's house and I was complaining that the zipper was broken. My brother says, "Take them back to the store." I told him I got them at Value Village, and he said, "Oh", all snotty-like. He thinks because he worked in retail for for ten years and now he's going to design school that he can afford to be pretentious about fashion.

On the way home from the mall I told my roommate that I am not shopping again for a few weeks, since I already had an impulse buy on amazon.com yesterday, and it's not like I'm rolling in money. But it was a Quesadilla maker! I love Quesadillas! And yes, I know I can just make them in a skillet, but the Quesadilla Maker cuts it for you and seals the edges so nothing comes out! And it's red! And cute!

Someone help me. I'm out of control.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005