Baltimore
13 February 2004


In the past two days I've been reading up on a new diary...well, new to me. I got this little test from funnyfrog. I was thinking about my social disease and then I came across this test for personality disorders, and it seemed fate. Here are my results:

DisorderRating
Paranoid:Low
Schizoid:High
Schizotypal:Low
Antisocial:Low
Borderline:Low
Histrionic:Low
Narcissistic:Moderate
Avoidant:Moderate
Dependent:Low
Obsessive-Compulsive:Low

-- Personality Disorder Test - Take It! --

So I only scored high on schizoid, which says:

People with schizoid personality disorder avoid relationships and do not show much emotion. They genuinely prefer to be alone and do not secretly wish for popularity. They tend to seek jobs that require little social contact. Their social skills are often weak and they do not show a need for attention or acceptance. They are perceived as humorless and distant and often are termed "loners."

I have to say that I'm not usually perceived as humorless or distant, but the rest is just about right.

Moderate narcissist?

Narcissistic personality disorder is characterized by self-centeredness. Like histrionic disorder, people with this disorder seek attention and praise. They exaggerate their achievements, expecting others to recongize them as being superior. They tend to be choosy about picking friends, since they believe that not just anyone is worthy of being their friend. They tend to make good first impressions, yet have difficulty maintaining long-lasting relationships. They are generally uninterested in the feelings of others and may take advantage of them.

The only part of that that's true is the being picky about friends and having difficulty with long term relationships. I do not take advantage of people and I do not seek attention. I guess that's why it's moderate, though.

I'm also a moderate avoidant, which doesn't make much sense to me.

Avoidant personality disorder is characterized by extreme social anxiety. People with this disorder often feel inadequate, avoid social situations, and seek out jobs with little contact with others. They are fearful of being rejected and worry about embarassing themselves in front of others. They exaggerate the potential difficulties of new situations to rationalize avoiding them. Often, they will create fantasy worlds to substitute for the real one. Unlike schizoid personality disorder, avoidant people yearn for social relations yet feel they are unable to obtain them. They are frequently depressed and have low self-confidence.

This seems to be very differente from schizoid, and yet I'm both. I don't avoid new possibilities. I don't create fantasy worlds. I'm not depressed, though sometimes I do suffer bouts of low self confidence. I do avoid social situations, but not because I feel inadequate, but rather because I don't feel like most of those people are worth my time. But I guess that's where the narcissm comes in, hehe.

All around, interesting.

In other news, yesterday I was listening to Posession by Sarah Mclaughlin and decided that I want to make an entire mix CD of Stalker Songs. So far I've come up off the top of my head:

Posession, Sarah McLaughlin
My Immortal, Evanessence
One Way or Another, Blondie
Every Breath You Take, The Police
Invisible, Clay Aiken (shut up)
Your House, Alanis Morissette
David Duchovny, Bree Sharp

That's all I can think of right now. I'm sure I'll come up with more though. If anyone has suggestions, let me know.



Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005