Baltimore
14 March 2004


I saw two fabulous movies this weekend and one OK movie.

The OK movie was the new Angelina Jolie movie, Taking Lives. I was pretty excited to see this because it looked like a decent movie, and frankly, Angie's film choices aren't always the greatest. I didn't even see that last one she was in, Beyond Borders. I meant to, but it was in the theaters for approximately ten seconds so I couldn't. Anyway, Taking Lives was decent. It was a predictable cop thriller, and it sort of stank of being an Ashley Judd throwaway. But it had a great cast. Other than Angelina, it also starred Ethan Hawke, Kiefer Sutherland, and Olivier Martinez, who I've never really taken notice of, but my word he was attractive. It also had a few good twists, which I won't reveal, and the obligatory Angelina sex scene. Although, it seemed weird because while Angie was essentially completely naked, the guy she was having sex with was in full dress, wearing a suit no less. Not that I mind, but it was strange. Overall the movie was worth seeing.

The first fabulous movie I saw was Pieces of April. Once you got over the close angles and quick cutaways that the makers of independent film are so fond of, it was fantastic. It starred Katie Holmes as the oldest daughter in a family. She's living on her own in New York and she's invited her family in from the suburbs for Thanksgiving dinner. She is a tatooed, pierced kind of girl and her family is very suburban and anti her lifestyle. This movie really had it all. I was happy and sad at different points, and I didn't really want it to end.

The second fabulous movie I saw this weekend was Real Women Have Curves. It was a little to in your face getting its message across, but it was fun all the same. Ana has just graduated from high school, and she wants to go to college but her family (especially her mother) wants her to stay in town and work at her sister's sewing factory. It was such a sweet movie. Coming of Age, overcoming your family while still respecting them, being your own person, learning that there are so much more important things than looks and weight. I really liked it. Although I didn't realize I could turn on the subtitles on the DVD and I spent the first twenty minutes wondering just what they were saying when they spoke Spanish.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005