Baltimore
18 July 2004


Just got home from Artscape. It's a festival held every year in Baltimore where local artists can get booths to show off their masterpieces. Also, food, beer, and music. They usually have semi-big names, or names that were big in the past, headlining. Tonight was Wyclef. The only song I know by him is the one that goes, "Just cause she dance the go-go, that don't make her a ho, no/Maxine put your red dress on, we're going to the disco/We're going to e-e-elope, to Mexico/Called up up my mama said I'm in love with a stripper yo" so I wasn't really paying attention to him while he sang. I also thought he sang that song, "What would you do if your son was at home, crying all alone on the bedroom floor cause he's hungry, and the only way to feed him is to sleep with a man for a little bit of money and his daddy's gone, somewhere smoking rock now, in and out of lockdown, so for you this is just a good time but for me this is what I call life" but apparantly that is some band called City High, according to my friends. Anyway, the song after Wyclef sang his in love with a stripper song was some cover of a Ludacris song that I don't know. I'm severely out of touch with what the kids are listening to these days. My friend Will actually thought it was Ludacris for a second and says, "If Ludacris is here I'm going to have an orgasm right now!" That seemed wholly inappropriate, if only because I don't want to imagine Amber's boyfriend having an orgasm.

I went to artscape looking for a picture to hang on the the wall above my bed. It's been blank since I moved into my apartment almost a year ago because I cannot find anything that I would like to hang there. I didn't have any luck though. Everything was either not my style or too big or too small. So instead I bought two cool and very different bracelets at Artscape. One is a copper band with a hand engraved floral pattern on it. It's gorgeous. The other is a string of small squares, each with a different picture that pertains to traveling on it. Airplanes, ships, luggage, and such. It's too great. It reminds me a lot of my Angelina bracelet, except it won't get me made fun of. I also bought a toe ring. I got that in anticipation of my first ever pedicure.

I have this problem with feet. I do not really like having mine touch nor do I enjoy touching other people's feet. It is a serious problem. I mean, serious in that I have a REALLY big problem with it. Most people respect that, except for this one guy in college who used to put his sweaty feet all over me to freak me out. Anyway, a friend of mine at work asked me if I wanted to go get a pedicure with her. She doesn't know about my foot thing being that she's a new friend, and I accepted for a few reasons. One, I didn't want to tell her about my foot thing because I didn't want her to think I'm weird. She's the first new friend I've made in some time so we're still in the honeymoon stage of friendship where we don't share our weirdness. Also, I've wanted to get rid of my foot fear for awhile, and thought this might do the trick. Either that or it'll land me in a mental institution. Finally, my feet really could use it. I'm on them 7-9 hours a night at work and they are pretty calloused and dry and all around gross. Hm. Perhaps that's too much information. Anyway, that's why I bought a toe ring. So I can show off my pretty new feet after my horrifying, possibly debilitating pedicure.



Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005