Baltimore
29 November 2003


As I drove to work the other day I was pondering The Chipmunks. I never bought into The Chipmunks. It just seemed too unrealistic. It seems silly to say so, since the Smurfs never seemed too unrealistic and they were three apples high blue people who used the word "smurf" for everything.

But Alvin, Simon, and Theodore? No way. First off, they are talking Chipmunks. Now, I don't have a problem with talking cartoon animals. It happens all the time in cartoons. But not only do they talk, they were ADOPTED into the human world. They had a (human) father, or guardian, whatever he was. They didn't call him Dad, they called him Dave. They went to school with human children. I'm sorry, but chipmunks are TINY! Even if they could talk, they could not go to school! They'd get trampled! And let's not even get into the other kids reaction to having to go to school with chimpmunks. Yet in Chipmunk land they never seemed to have a problem.

Possibly the most unrealistic thing of all: their music career. Come on! Are you kidding me? Where did they find tiny enough instruments? I guess these genetically mutated huge Chimpmunks didn't have a problem with that. And has anyone actually HEARD them sing? It's horrendous!

As if all of that isn't enough, there just happen to be three girl chipmunks living next door. It seems mighty coincidental that the old lady next door to Dave also happened to adopt some genetically altered talking singing Chipmunks, but it happened. Or maybe in Chipmunk-land, all Chipmunks are great singers and come in sets of three. Maybe a lot of homes have them.

But I still don't buy it. In fact, it gives me the creeps. Are the Chipmunks and the Chipettes living in a town where some crazy scientist is doing inhumane tests on the wildlife? Should we be concerned? Whose idea were the Chipmunks? I probably don't want to know.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005