Baltimore
08 November 2004


And now for a comical ending to last Saturday after my parents' car accident. My brother and sister drove to the 24 hour Rite Aid pharmacy to get my mom's prescriptions, and while my brother waited for the prescription, my sister left him there and drove home, and I was planning on driving up to get him. Please do not ask me to explain the logic; I can't. So I'm at my parents' house, getting ready to leave, when my brother calls from his cell phone. He says that the store security guard has accused him of shop lifting and they called the cops. At first I didn't understand him and I said, "There's a stick up at the Rite Aid?" and he shrieks at me, "No you fool! They think I did it! Get your ass down here!" My mom makes my uncle go with me. I don't know why. For muscle, I guess. We get there and a police officer is questioning my brother, who is glaring at him with the hands-on-hips posture of indignation that gay boys seem to have perfected. The officer is asking my brother to turn out his pockets, and my brother is not cooperating. He's going on and on about how he works at one of the largest retail stores in the country and he knows the laws behind catching a shop lifter and they are breaking them! I'm like, "Dude, just turn out your pockets and show that you don't have anything." But he is way too upset about this inappropriate search and seizure to comply. By the way, my uncle was the worst "muscle" ever since all he did was stand around and try on sunglasses.

The cop and the store manager kept asking my brother for his "Maryland ID" and he kept telling them, "I gave you the only ID I have. I do not have a Maryland ID!" But they didn't understand. The cop says, "Why don't you have a Maryland ID?" and my brother yells at him, "Because I live in Chicago! Where's your Illinois ID?" Finally my brother agreed to turn out his pockets and when nothing was found, they let him go. Not before my brother got the manager's name and supervisor's address and told the manager that he hopes he can find a better job because he's not going to have this one when my brother is done with him.

I thought the entire thing was hilarious. My brother, not so much. I had a good laugh retelling the story to Julia on the phone that night.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005