Baltimore
16 November 2004


I spent the weekend in Charlotte with Matt and Julia visiting our friends Sheri and Michele. Sheri and I were best friends in high school but have since grown in very different directions. She moved to Charlotte for college in 1997 and never came back. We had a really good time, but I'm not sure if I could manage to hold on to my friendship with Sheri if she still lived nearby. It's weird the way that happens. I think the way our lives and personalities have split, the distance is actually what keeps us together.

Sheri had three topics of conversation for the weekend: football, drinking, and politics. I've never been more than a casual fan of football, I don't spend much time drinking, and Sheri's idea of talking politics is to talk about how stupid George Bush is. Now, I know a lot of people think that he is a raving stupid idiot, and perhaps there is some basis in that, but how many times in one weekend can you actually say that? I mean, argue policies or legislation or decisions, but how is it satisfying to just talk about how George Bush is stupid over and over again? When I didn't laugh continuously at her jokes, she accused me being a stuffy republican who is clearly insane because I love George Bush. Now, first of all, I did not vote for George Bush, although I am in fact a registered Republican. So when she got all snotty with me, I told her exactly what I think. I think that one of the democrats problems is that they think George Bush is a big idiot, which a lot of the time led him to be underestimated. George Bush may not be a smooth talker the way Bill Clinton was, but he is no idiot. He knows what he is doing, and the image Democrats have in their mind of him as a bumbling buffoon hurts them more than it hurts Bush. Of course, Sheri wouldn't listen to that, and simply chalked me up to being as stupid as she perceives Bush to be. So after I tried to explain to her why I don't find never-ending "Bush is stupid" jokes to be the most hilarious thing I've ever heard, she resorted to telling them to Matt and Julia behind my back and whispering about they can't disturb Stacey, the oversensitive dummy. I actually found it to be pretty immature. I also find the derision of the Bush administration uncoupled with any ideas of what should be changed to sound a lot like sour grapes.

Wow, I did not mean to go on so long about that. Anyway, other than that the weekend was very fun. Like I said, I don't do much drinking, but I did this weekend. Sheri and Michele both love to go out, so I did as the Charlottians did.

Julia hardly ever drinks, and she turned out to be quite hilarious. Drunken Julia spent most of Saturday night discussing cunnilingus with anyone who would listen, including Sheri's crew of all male friends, who I'm sure were very amused. She also made friends with some guy from Buffalo just so she could eat part of his dinner and demanded mashed potatoes as we walked back to the hotel.

Speaking of Sheri's all male friends, one of them looked just like Dr. Mark Green from ER, except younger and without the receding hairline. It was creepy. But he was really cool and fun and the only one who would do Irish Car Bombs with me. Also, he paid me quite a bit of attention. I pride myself on being the kind of person who doesn't rely on others to feel good about myself, and sometimes I get angry with myself when I allow myself to feel good because of attention. That in turn makes me wonder if I don't take myself too seriously. If my views on self-worth and feminism haven't become so skewed and over the top that I'll never even be able to enter into a healthy relationship because I'm so afraid to allow the way others treat me to affect me.

Um. This got a lot deeper than I meant it to be. And I'm not feeling much like self-analyzation.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005