Baltimore
16 January 2004


Because I'm dull, I'm going to answer some survey questions that I stole from another diary. Dull, dull, dull. And it's getting kind of far away from 2003, but we're still in January, so what the hell?

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Drove 13 hours completely by myself, and it wasn't half bad. Spent nearly a month being unemployed with no certain future. Paid for college tuition with my own hard earned money.

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

If I made any new year's resolutions in 2003 I've long forgotten them. My only resolution for 2004 is to pay off my Capital One credit card. I think I can do it.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

No, but I wish someone had. I have baby fever, but unfortunately none of my friends are at baby making stages of life. But my sister is pregnant right now! Woo Hoo!

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No one close to me has ever died. Isn't that strange? I mean, I'm happy for never having to overcome that sadness, but I'm afraid that when it does happen, I won't be at all prepared. I've never even been to a funeral. Also, this is going to sound really silly, but was personally affected by the death of John Ritter. I felt like I knew him. He's the first famous person who has ever died who caused me to shed a tear. I still get blue when I watch reruns of Three's Company or when I see his son, Jason, on Joan of Arcadia.

5. What countries did you visit?

None. I'm boring. The only country I've been to other than the United States is England, and that was when I was 17. I've never even been to Canada or Mexico.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

Financial stability. Financial maturity. A car that doesn't break down.

7. What date(s) from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

February 14-17--I got snowed into my friend's house in New Jersey and it was quite possibly the best weekend of my life. It made me seriously consider moving to New Jersey just to be closer to that wonderful family. And it was a nice, fun break from life.

July 25th--the day I quit my stable job to join the unknown. The idea of change and instability paralyzes me with fear, and it was a big step to decide to leave that which made me miserable.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

See my July 25th date.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Just an overall lack of maturity and responsibility when it comes to money. I continually spend that which I do not have or that which is earmarked for something else. I go out to dinner instead of paying bills, I buy DVDs instead of putting money into savings.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Nope. I've been congested and stuffy since the first week of December, but that doesn't really count.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Hmm....I'm really happy with my season one of ER. Those were the days. Carter was cute and likable, Dr. Green was sympathetic, Benton and Carter were too cute, George Clooney was...George Clooney. I'm also really proud of my computer desk because I saved up money to buy it and it was kind of expensive but I made sure I could afford it and I was very responsible.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?


My sister. She made it through a semester of school for the first time since high school, and she's determined to stick with it. My friend Anthony, who went off to college and adjusted better than any of us could have hoped. Also my brother, who has been living life in a horrible cycle for years, broke free and changed his life, moving half way across the country and jump starting himself.


13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?


Hm. No one I can think of.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Living expenses. Unfortunately.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? quitting my job (excited and scared), seeing my New Jersey friends many many times for the first half of the year, deciding to go back to school and making a final decision on what I would study.

16. What song(s) will always remind you of 2003?

That ridiculous Chimpanzee song by Barenaked Ladies, Fallen by Sarah Mclaughlin, and that horrible Clay Aiken stalker song.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. Happier or sadder? Happier.

ii. Thinner or fatter? Thinner, about twenty pounds actually.

iii. Richer or poorer? much much poorer. but since I'm happier, it's ok.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

savied money, written letters

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

procrastinating, whining

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I spend every Christmas with my family. We all get new pajamas!

22. Did you fall in love in 2003?

No. No love.

23. How many one-night stands?

Also no one night stands. I usually have one in even numbered years, so keep your fingers crossed for 2004!

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Definitely 24! It's the best show on television. Also the final season of Friends. How will I cope when it is no more?

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

I don't hate anyone. At least, not that I can think of.

26. What was the best book you read?

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. Hands down.

27. What were your greatest musical discoveries?

Howie Day. He's so depressing that I can't stop listening to him.

28. What did you want and get?

A job that makes me happy.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Bend it Like Beckham.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 24 and I went to a few bars with a few friends and had a LOT of drinks. That was the night I lost my Ja Rule lighter. It was a sad thing to happen on my birthday.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

A few romantic encounters.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

I'm not sure what my style would be called. It's somewhere between preppy and grundgy. Does that even make sense?

34. What kept you sane?

My friend Julia. Even though we mostly only talk on the phone and over the computer, she's the best friend I've ever had. She's my soulmate, sappy as it sounds. She listened to my bitch about family problems, roommate problems, problems with friends and my job. She backed up what I was feeling even when it seemed crazy to me.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

As always, I pine for Angelina Jolie. She is forever my sexy goddess. But I also had a big crush on Carlos Bernard, who plays Tony on 24. I look at him and I just want to lick him.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

I hate politics. I hate talking about them and hearing other people talking about them. Funny thing about me, considering I have a degree in history. You'd think politics would be my bag.

37. Who did you miss?

My brother. He moved to Chicago in August and last year was the first Christmas I've spent without him since I was born. I miss my friends up in New Jersey. I just saw Julia a few days ago, but only for three hours, and as soon as she was gone I missed her so much I ached.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

I have to say Nick P. I can't remember WHEN I first met him, but I think it was in 2003. He's a great guy and so wonderful. He's very quiet, though, and I feel that I still have a lot ot learn about him.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003:

Being happy is more important that being financially stable.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year: Turns out not where but who you're with that really matters.

"



Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005