Baltimore
31 January 2004


I really think that Kevin Costner should just stick to feel good sports movies. This thought came to me today as I watched Tin Cup with my father for the millionth time. I love that movie. I love feel good sports movies. And when it comes to them, no one does it better than Kevin Costner. Think about it. Bull Durham, Field of Dreams, Tin Cup, For Love of the Game. All great movies. Predictable, sappy, feel good sports movies. Here are some other Kevin Costner movies: A Perfect World, Water World, The Postman, Message In A Bottle, Open Range, Wyatt Earp. All long, drawn out, painfully slow and boring movies. To give him credit, A Perfect World was mildly interesting, and Wyatt Earp might have been better received if it hadn't come out around the same time as a little film titled Tombtone. But really, if you had to sit down and watch a marathon of Kevin Costner movies, would you pick the sports movies or the epics? I know what I'd do.

See, here is where he went wrong. Two of Kevin's (we're on a first name basis) most popular movies that came out within a few years of each other were Field of Dreams and Dances With Wolves. Both were really great movies. Field of Dreams, of course, being a feel good sports movie, and Dances With Wolves being a long epic type film. Dances With Wolves went on to win critical acclaim and pretty much ruled the Oscars, as I recall. It seems that Kevin clung to the glory of Dances With Wolves and tried to recreate it again and again. The problem being, it's easy to make a sappy sports movie and it's hard to capture all the elements to make people willing to sit in a movie theater for over three hours without being bored out of their minds.

I suppose Kevin is getting too old to make many more feel good sports movies. Even I found it a little hard to believe that someone Kevin's age could play a pitcher in the major leagues when For Love of the Game opened in 1999. But the answer certainly isn't in trying to force more four hour westerns down our throats.

It's not working, Kevin! I want to like you as an actor, so give me what I want!

***************************************************

On a completely unrelated note, I stole this from HeidiAnn, and I thought it was cool. I've visited 47% of the states! Although I did include states I've only driven through, which I'm not sure counts.


create your own visited states map

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005