Baltimore
08 March 2004


Saturday night I was in the grocery store (yes, I grocery shop on Saturday night. It may be dorky, but there aren't as many people around) and I spotted the latest issue of Vogue, with the lovely Angelina Jolie on the cover. Now, I never buy Vogue. I know (and care) as much about fashion as I do about bean picking, but the fact remains that I bought the magazine. Who can resist those blue eyes gazing at me while the caption of the magazine reads: "Angelina Jolie: Single Mom, UN Ambassador, and Colin Farrell's Leading Lady"?

After I got home, I sat at the kitchen table thumbing through the magazine and I thought of my mom. About how we are such different people, and that the essence of us as different people can be summed up in our magazine buying habits. See, everytime I see Angelina Jolie on the cover of a magazine, I buy it. Be it Vogue, GQ, Woman's Day, whatever. My mom does the same with Laura Bush. Not that Laura Bush would ever appear on GQ (imagine?), but it's the same.

Imagine the person who buys every magazine with Angie on the cover and the person who buys every magazine with Laura Bush on the cover. See the difference? My mom loves Laura Bush. As much as I love Angie, albiet in completely different ways. I figured that I'd try to find out why, so last time I was at her house I picked up a magazine with a picture of the first lady and read the article. It was just a one page thing where they ask Laura Bush about heart disease. I don't know if she's an authority, but it certainly didn't tell me anything about her character. I mentioned that to my mom, and she complained, "Yeah if I had known this was the article I never would have bought the magazine. But I saw her on the cover and just picked it up."

I laughed, because I've done the same with Angie. The worst was when I bought some magazine called Woman's Own because she was on the cover. Sure I've never heard of that magazine, but still I bought it. I got it home and I couldn't find one thing about Angelina with the exception of one sentence in the "stars" section. What a bummer.

On the off chance that not everyone who comes upon this knows about my obsession with Angie, this is my latest purchase. Isn't it groovy?

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005