Baltimore
01 August 2004


I watched Romeo and Juliet last night, the Leonardo DiCaprio/Claire Danes version. I really do love that movie, despite the fact that I feel like I shouldn't. I don't actually like the story of Romeo and Juliet. I just can't get behind the two of the meeting, falling in love in like, a minute, getting married a day later, and killing themselves for each other after that. I don't buy it and I'll never buy it. I know that is drama unbelievable things happen all the time, but to me this is too much. Sorry, Shakespeare. I do really enjoy the Romeo/Mercutio/Tybalt/Benvolio storyline. When Romeo watches Mercutio die, THAT resonates with me. That grief is real and terrible. When he cries over "dead" Juliet, I want to tell him to get over himself, he's known her for less than a week. I told Julia about my feelings for it, and she said the whole story depresses her, she doesn't think about the plausibiliity. I think she just doesn't want to see Leo die.

Speaking of Julia, she's moving down here in ten days. Ten. Days. I can't ever recall being happier about anything. I was planning on going down to her new place the day they move to see her family and such, but the more I think about it the more I think I'll just wait. I have all the time in the world to spend with her now that she'll be so close to me, and I think it would be sort of selfish of me to interrupt her good-bye to her family, which is going to be quite emotional. Julia and her family are spectacularly close and she doesn't want to leave them. I love my family and I enjoy being with them, but I know I could leave them without feeling TOO much pain. I used to live about two hours from my family, and I never really missed them, I think because I knew that I'd see them again soon. It wasn't like I lived in Australia or something. My mom used to complain that I never called her or sent her cards and I barely came to visit her. But Julia and her family are different. She and her brother are best friends. Julia can't stand the thought of being away from them. She's doing her best to be excited about the move, and I think she IS excited to start an adult life and a career, but only when she doesn't allow herself to think about being away from her family.

So I think I'll leave Julia alone on her first night down here. After all, I have every day to see her. Every day! I am TOO excited.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005