Baltimore
18 April 2004


When I get home for the evening, I have a procedure that I follow before I can go to bed. First I check my email account that I use with Outlook Express. I reply to any neccessary emails, and move onto my web based email service. Then I check the blog; Anthony, Julia, and I keep a blog where we write back and forth to each other. It's a hilarious thing. After the blog, I go to Television Without Pity to check for new recaps or recaplets. If none exist, I go to the forums section and read up on 24 and The Sopranos. After TWoP, I go to an old X-Files bulletin board where a few of us still hang out and chat about things. Finally, I come to Diaryland and read any updated diaries on my buddy list. Then, I go to bed.

Last night I got home from work at around 12:45 a.m. I changed out of my stinky work clothes and sat down at the computer. But I couldn't connect! At first I thought there was a problem with my DSL, but upon picking up the phone I realized there was no dial tone, either. I was quite annoyed at the interruption of my nightly routine, but was too tired to try and remedy the situation at such a late hour. So, I went to bed.

This morning I woke up and surprise! The phone still didn't work. Since I don't own a cell phone, I couldn't call the phone company to get the dang thing fixed, so off I headed to my parent's house. I figured I could call the phone company and also get some free lunch. Not a bad deal. The only problem was, I knew that if I told my mother that the phone wasn't working, she'd give me the Judgemental Look and ask me if I paid the bill that month. Because, let's face it, forgetting to pay the phone bill is the sort of thing I'd do.

At my parent's house, I call the phone company, but since it's Saturday, they don't have any real people to talk to me. They hook me up with the automated computer voice that sounds feminine, and she begins asking me questions:

Computer Lady: Do you have a dial tone?
Me: No
Computer Lady: I'm sorry to hear that.

Really? The computer feels sorry for me? Fabulous.

Anyhow, the computer lady starts to tell me several things I can do to test my connection to figure out what is wrong. Since I'm not at my house, I obviously can't do these things, so I hang up.

I understand that most people have cell phones. I assume the good folks at the phone company think that I would have just called them from my cell phone. But I don't have a cell phone! So how am I to get my phone fixed if I have to be calling from my home? Society is trying to force me into getting a cell phone, and I'm not having it. Leave me alone, society!

Anyhow, back to the story. I go home to get ready for work, and when I get there my sister has the phone in her hand and says to me, "Do you know the phone doesn't work?" I tell her I do, so of course she asks me, "Did you pay the bill?" Am I that unreliable? People can't just accept that the phone is broken? It has to be my fault?

My sister hands me the phone and I turn to put it back in its cradle. Upon doing so, my eyes travel down the cord to the jack where both the phone cord and the DSL cord enter the wall.

It wasn't plugged in.

Thank God I didn't get through to the phone company. I've always made fun of those trouble shooting guide for electronics because the first question is, "Is your product plugged in?" I can no longer make fun of whoever needs that question, because now I'm the person to whom that question is directed.

I'm such a dork.

On a totally unrelated note, I was just watching a rerun of The West Wing, and Rob Lowe is so good looking that it hurts me a little bit to look at him. It's like he's the sun. Beautiful, but not meant to look at directly.

As long as I'm veering off topic, I have to share this disgusting story from my work. I hate this story, and therefore I must re-tell it here. There are these four people at my work. I don't want to use their real names, so we'll just call them Kim (a server), Tony (a server), Nina (a manager), and Michelle (a host). Tony has a girlfriend, but he still invited Kim over to his house one afternoon, where they had sex. After Kim left, Nina came over to hang out. Nina got really drunk and also had sex with Tony. After they had sex, Tony kicked her out because his girlfriend would be home soon. Nina met up with Michelle and some other co-workers at a bar, where she got even more drunk. She was way too drunk to drive home, so Michelle drove her home. After arriving at Nina's place, Nina and Michelle had sex. WHAT is wrong with these people? I hate where I work so much.

Ok, I'm done now. This entry has run over.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005