Baltimore
25 March 2004


Ok, I try really hard not to be a superficial person. In fact, it's one of the main things I love about myself is that fact that I'm not superficial. I don't value people on their looks or their money, and I dislike people who do. I am not a superficial person.

Except that I totally am.

Case in point, last night at work I mentioned to this guy that I was taking Anatomy and Physiology, and this cute girl overheard me and says, "I can get you an A in that class! I love that stuff." Now, I don't need a tutor, my problem in that class isn't that I can't comprehend it, it's that I never study. But I actually seriously considered letting this girl tutor me just because she's cute. Seriously? That's superficial. Because honestly I don't even think I'd enjoy this girl's company very much, but I'd like to look at her.

The other day I was pulling up to a red light and I saw these two girls with buckets, collecting money. I HATE that. I hate when people do that for charity. If you want me to give you money, perform some type of service. A bake sale, a car wash, something. Don't just panhandle. Normally I don't even look at these people. But I did that day, and the girl holding her bucket was so adorable that I had to roll down my window and give her some money. She starts to go into her shpiel about saving the animals, but I didn't even listen. I just gave her some money because she was pretty.

The same thing has happened with me in Washington, D.C. Greenpeace sends out these attractive young people to accost you as you're coming off the subway, and I've stopped to listen to them just because they're pretty. I've never given them any money, but still.

So here I am, priding myself on being non-superficial, but being superficial all the same. I don't choose my friends based on the way they look. That's one thing. I guess the lesson in all this is that if you want to get some money, send in the pretty people.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005