Baltimore
29 July 2003


I haven't written in here in what feels like forever. Life has been so hectic lately. Lots of changes, which I'm sure I'll get into eventually.

I got home yesterday from a much needed weekend away. Went to visit some friends in New Jersey for three days, where I just forgot about everything and relaxed.

Friday night we saw Tomb Raider II, which I've been waiting for since Tomb Raider I ended. I'm such a slut for Angelina Jolie. The woman is such a goddess. People poke fun at me all the time for my undying devotion, and my friend Julia, one of the people who saw the movie with me, has always been disdainful of her. She thinks Angelina is a freak and a weirdo who makes out with her brother and acts like a fool in public. Hm. Julia is lucky I love her so much or I'd have to fight her for talking about Angelina that way.

Anyway.

Tomb Raider was fantastic. Nothing that makes you think, just a lot of pretty people and explosions. Every now and then that's the kind of movie I need to see. One that doesn't make me think about anything except for making out with Angelina.

Saturday we slept in, then we went to the bookstore (my favorite place) and the zoo. Unfortunately we slept in a little too late and the rather small county zoo closes at 4:00 so we missed it. We did get to ride the train around the perimeter of the zoo and we saw some Emu. Saturday night we had dinner at home and played a bunch of games. Loaded Questions was fun, but my friend Mike always gets bored with the questions so he makes up his own. Mike is a hopeless romantic, and he was not amused with our answers to "Describe the most romantic evening you can imagine." Julia said, "Peanut Butter Sundaes at Friendly's and Dr. Mario all night," Anthony said, "Go to a bar," and I said, "Booze, sex, and Angelina." Meanwhile Mike's was about four pages long about romantic dinners and long walks and candles and "making love all night long." My roommate says, "After that long ass date, who has the energy to make love all night long?"

Sunday we slept in again, then went to Blue Moon for lunch. Blue Moon is a spectacular Mexican cafe near my friend's house. I had grilled chicken and avacado burritos. Yummy. After that we went to the pool and while we were swimming laps during adult swim (how great that I get to go into adult swim when I still feel like a kid), Julia stops and says to me that she pretends she's Lara Croft when she's under the water, and when she's above the water she pretends she's making out with Angelina. WHAT? This, the girl who has always said she didn't see the Angelina attraction and who thinks she's a freak. I told her that I knew she'd come around and see the Angelina love eventually. Annoyed at my triumph, she changed her statement to "I'd make out with Lara Croft, but not Angelina. She is still a weirdo." If you say so, Julia.

After we went to the pool we went home for awhile and watched the Christina Aguilera story on E! Then we went to this little Italian restaurant that Anthony really likes, and sitting at the table right next to us was Lorraine Bracco! That name probably won't mean much to anyone who doesn't watch The Sopranos, but Dr. Melfi! Right next to us! It was great. Until some girl bothered her during her meal to get an autograph, and then went back to her table and proceeded to call everyone she knows on her cell phone and say loudly that she's sitting near Lorraine Bracco. Can't the woman just eat in peace?

After dinner we went to Blockbuster and rented How To Lose A Guy in 10 Days. It started out horribly, but turned out to be a pretty cute movie. We also went to Dairy Queen. Wow, I really ate a lot this weekend.

Monday we slept in (mmm....sleep) then went to the diner for breakfast. You cannot go to New Jersey without going to a diner. They are everywhere up there. Then my roommate had to go to a meeting close to Julia's house. Then we watched Harry Potter. Well, Anthony and I watched Harry Potter and Julia slept. After Harry Potter we played a rousing game of Hide and Seek. We probably looked like fools, but it was the most fun I've had in awhile. Then we ate dinner and my roommate and I made the trek home to Baltimore.

It was a great weekend.

Last Next
Diaryland Archives Notes Guestbook Email
Content, design, and photo � Stacey 2002-2005